Getting animals in your viewfinder can be tricky

Over the summer I was able to get some great animal and insect close-ups but the big challenge was that I was using my 17-55 mm lens in all of the occurrences. This poses a hard problem. Do I fill the frame by getting real close (risking scaring the subject) or get as close I can and post edit the photo by cropping?

Well in this pictures except for the cat I had to get as close as I could and then do some extreme cropping in Photoshop. The bee was found gathering pollen on the clover when I got about three feet away. Since I have a phobia of bees that’s about as close as I dared. The squirrel was up in the tree about twenty feet away. He paused for a moment and I got the shot.

Later I went into Photoshop and set my crop tool dimensions to 10″ wide by 8″ high and set the dpi to 300. I then cropped out most of the picture on both images resulting in a larger and what appeared closer photo of the subject just as though I used a long telephoto lens.

The drawback of this technique is that if you use a lower mp camera (I used a 8mp camera for these) your images stand a chance of really getting large fractals (pixels that were oversampled) and really just ruining your shot.

It’s possible to get two or three picutres out of one by using the crop feature creatively. Take a close look at your pictures and see what you can come up with. Have fun.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

Let me know what you think

