I’m done with point and shoot, now what.

Wanting to move from your point and shoot camera to a SLR without breaking the bank? Going into the realm of DSLR can be scary and overwhelming. What lens do I get, what MP should I consider, what features are a good value, what the heck does USM IS and L mean? Well don’t worry, it isn’t as hard as it sounds.

While there is a large selection of entry level DSLR’s on the market from all manufactures like Nikon, Olympus, Sony, and Casio; I have my own bias towards Canon. I feel that they have the widest selection of lenses, camera’s, upgrade equipment, and 3rd party accessories available. Their EOS Rebel camera line is geared perfectly for the entry level photographer and still offers pro quality features.

For instance the EOS Rebel XS (1000D), an improved version of the XTi (400D), has a 10.1 mega pixel CMOS sensor, Digic III processing, 2.5 inch view screen, 3 frames per second continuous rate, and Live View Mode. It comes with a 18-55 mm IS (image stabilization) zoom lens that takes good clear photos. For a good comparison the pictures on this blog use the non IS version of this exact same lens.

The price of the XS kit is suggested at $599 but you can find it at online stores for around $530.

The biggest drawback of the camera is it’s construction. While it does excellent with all sorts of environments and situations it doesn’t like shocks to the body very much. Keep a strap on the camera to prevent dropping it and be sure to leave a hand on the camera when your walking. It’s also a little smaller compared to it’s more expensive counterparts, so if you have larger hands you might want to consider buying the battery grip. This will add an extra inch to hold on to and balance the camera better.

I know there are plenty of other cameras out there and others will say they are better, however in my own opinion (because I don’t use other camera brands) the Canon will be an excellent choice for anyone.

Photo courtesy of Canon

Photo courtesy of Canon

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

3 Responses to I’m done with point and shoot, now what.

  1. Elliana Birks says:

    What is the easiest way to learn to use it if you’re intimidated by all the technical terms?

  2. starstruckimages says:

    Well the easiest way is by trial and error. Pick up the camera, switch to one of the automatic modes and see what it does. Once you gain some confidence, start playing with the advanced modes (time priority, aperture priority, program, even manual) try setting the aperture from low f/ to high and see how each one affects other settings on the camera.

    I recommend just to play like this for two or three months and use the lens the camera came with, this way you’ll become familiar with the camera and lens in the least amount of time.

  3. churchwell says:

    I have Canon XT and XTI and they are pretty durable to normal shock. I have never dropped them (so far…knock knock) so I don’t know if they will take that. I have had the XTI for 2 years and the XT for a year and so far so good.
    I have taken them out in the elements and they did just fine. I let them set in my canon camera bag before downloading pictures to slowly change it’s temp’

Let me know what you think

