ArtRage 2.5 review

Recently I happened upon a nifty program called ArtRage 2.5. It’s a painting program that’s simple but still has has powerful features. For over ten years I have been a Photoshop only guy and didn’t really venture out to other programs.

A couple of weeks ago I purchased the ImagineFX magazine which comes with a goodies DVD. ArtRage was included on this DVD and I installed it. I give two thumbs up even though I had the feature limited free edition. The price for the full version is $25 and can be downloaded from the website. There is also a very helpful forum full of advice, resources, and art from other ArtRage users.

So if PainterX is daunting and Photoshop is just to much for your first trip into the digital world, check out ArtRage 2.5. It is an excellent way into digital art without breaking your pocketbook.

This painting was inspired by my older son who was on a Star Wars drawing frenzy. The Red guard was done in ArtRage and the background was an old promotional poster for Star Wars III that was modified in Photoshop.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

One Response to ArtRage 2.5 review

  1. 3bdigitalart says:

    Now that’s a program I’ve never heard of. I thought I knew about all of them šŸ˜‰ I’ll have to check it out!
    Great job on the painting! I’m envious.

Let me know what you think

