Sometimes not taking pictures helps

I found that sometimes not being behind the lens is helpful when your pictures are being a bit dull. Instead I turn to sketching and painting (digitally). It tends to free up your imagination and helps your mind to work through composition issues.

Doing sketches that involve shading helps you better understand the zone system used in black and white photography. If your sketches turn out flat and boring because of the flat shading then your mind will see this and correct its mistakes and produce  better picture next time.

Recently I’ve been practicing my skills painting in Photoshop and sketching in my book to help me get better both in art and b and w photography. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

It doesn’t matter how good you are at drawing. What really counts is getting your mind to get fresh ideas for new shots. Don’t let your mind get bored. The more it works the better your shots.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

Let me know what you think

