Black and White Week 1

My family and I did not celebrate New Years eve with New York or Paris. We didn’t celebrate it with Facebook friends or tweeps. We didn’t even celebrate it with other family or friends. We kept it simple and celebrated it with just us. My wife set a kitchen timer (official countdown clock), made Yoda soda for the kids (sprite with lime sherbet), and got the Champagne ready for popping.   When the time came we counted down 10, 9, 8… POP!

“Happy New Year!”, we all yelled.

After we all toasted our toasts and drank our drinks I grabbed the camera. I already had decided to make a unique picture for the new year; Not just another bottle and cup combo. The problem was what was the picture going to be. Well with a slightly foggy brain it came to me.

I picked up the green glass Champagne bottle and held it in front of the accent lamp in the living room and fired off a couple of shots. The next morning when I woke up I took a look at what I did. I must say, a foggy brain sometimes helps.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

2 Responses to Black and White Week 1

  1. Barbara says:

    That turned out pretty darn cool! I’ll have to try creating images while tipsy–might end up with something unique! 🙂

  2. Yeah, I was surprised how it came out. I had thought the shot was going to be underexposed because the green glass was thick and dark but it the camera compensated pretty well for it.

Let me know what you think

