Black and White Week 2

I was sitting on my bed reading, waiting for sleep to overtake me.  Next to me is my nightstand, which is a chronicle to whats going on in my life at the time. For example I have B + W magazine issues, a photo equipment catalog, and a broken string of prayer beads.

I sat there looking at the beads thinking, “why did I keep this?” I gathered up the pieces in my hand and looked at the decorative jewelery piece on one strand. Then it came to me just why I kept the beads for so long.

A couple of years ago my grandmother was approaching the end of her life and was in the hospital. During that time I was in the middle of religious confusion and was exploring different beliefs. Well, I had bought a rosary and shortly after, the small Jesus that was on the cross had broken it’s weld and came off leaving the cross unmarked. I didn’t think much of it and continued to use the rosary.

When I had heard my Grandmother was in the hospital and only had a few days left, I took it with me to visit her. She was already under drug induced coma when I still talked to her. She was a religious woman and in my opinion one of the nicest persons to be on the Earth.  I pulled to rosary out said a short prayer and placed it on the table next to her.

I never saw the rosary again, but I like to think that she’s in heaven holding it. The broken beads on my nightstand now have permanent residence there.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

Let me know what you think

