Black and White week 15

Signs of the recession in Newark. This man was walking down the street with a bag full of beer cans to be recycled.

On an unrelated note, welcome to all of the visitors from the Ultimate Blog Party 2010. My name is Mark Birks, I’m a professional photographer in Ohio. My blog is centered around  photography and Photoshop tips and tricks in order to help people improve their skills.

Currently I’m working on a fine art series called “A Year in Black and White” where once a week I publish a black and white photograph of things that go on in my life. At the end of the year twenty of the pictures will be selected and placed into an exhibition and special edition numbered prints will be on sale.

To celebrate the Ultimate Blog Party 2010, I am opening a giveaway. During April 9 -16 if anyone leaves a comment on this post your automatically entered to win a free 8×10 print of any of the photographs done so far (weeks 1 -15) in the series.  The winner will be selected and announced on the 17th.

The winner will be announced both on this blog and on twitter (follow me here). Please leave an email address for me so I can contact you if selected (the email address is only for this contest and will not be used for anything else). Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to browse the archives and if you have any questions about photography services and prices please email me ( birksphotography@gmail.com ) I’ll be happy to talk with you.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

27 Responses to Black and White week 15

  1. Cherees says:

    Stopping by from the UBP10!! Your work is great! I hope that you have a great party week!!

  2. Desiree says:

    I love the intent of this photograph.. very nice job! don’t worry, hopefully the economy will get better 🙂

  3. Mimi says:

    Nice to see some men at the party. Can’t wait to see your photos! I just got Photoshop and have NO CLUE how to use it! LOL

    ~Mimi
    mnjesusfreak at gmail dot com

  4. xenia says:

    Thanks for stopping by! Your photography is amazing, I’ve always wanted to learn more!

  5. Thank you so much for stopping by my party at http://raisingmy4sons.com

    Also, thank you for your kind compliments! Your photography is great! I aspire to be a great photographer like you some day! 🙂

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

  6. Bluestocking says:

    Hi Mark! I love b &w photography!! It’s a hobby of mine.

    Hi! I’m visiting from the UBP 10! Hope to see you at mine!

    Party Post

  7. RK says:

    Hello! I am stopping by from the UBP 2010. I am a reader of money-saving blogs, especially Couponing to Disney, but I am finding myself drawn to the blogs that are a little bit different as I browse through the blog lists. Your black and white project is a neat idea.

    I am a bit of an amateur photographer myself. I’ve been learning some of the nuts and bolts of photography for the last several years with an Olympus C-770 Ultrazoom camera, and about two months ago, I (well, my husband and I) bought our first SLR … I look forward to following your series.

    Regarding the man with the cans to recycle … who knows … maybe he is like some of us frugal blog readers who like to pinch and save in any economy?

  8. Kristin says:

    What a stunning picture Mark. The balance of light and dark is fabulous and I love the shadows in it.

  9. Aarn Farmer says:

    One of the funnest times I my life was when I managed a camera store and got to help people take better pictures so there will always be a soft spot in my heart for a well composed shot. Looks like you’ve got some great work here and a nice looking blog.

  10. Kaye Swain says:

    Hi, I stopped by to visit from the 2010 Ultimate Blog party. As a Sandwich Generation senior home care giver and granny nanny to a passel of adorable grandchildren, I had fun looking at your pictures – particularly of your sweet little ones

  11. Stopping in for the party! Your photos are great, my favorite B&W is #4 (so far).

  12. SuZ says:

    Stopping by from UBP and wanted to say HI! Great photos.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Stopping by from UBP. Great photos. Good to see a Dad blogger listed

  14. Merry120 says:

    Stopping by from UBP10! You take beautiful photographs. I love the one with your son a the center of the universe. Great composition! I love taking pictures & I hope one day to become more proficient with my camera…

  15. Tammy-Lee says:

    I love your pictures too. I love to take picture and I have a few on my blog hop over and have a look.

  16. Tammy-Lee says:

    can’t figure out how to follow you so if you can let me know that would be great. http://muchtosayaboutnothing-tammy-lee.blogspot.com/2010/04/5-min-for-moms-ultimate-2010-blog-party.html

  17. What a special treat for the UBP’10. I love B&W images and I wish you absolute and complete success with your book. One of the things I want to do is learn to become a better photographer. I’m sure I can learn a lot just by looking at all your fabulous images.

  18. Hi, I’m stopping by from the UBP. Great B&W pic!

  19. Mark Birks says:

    Hello to you all and thanks for commenting. It’s overwhelming just how many people have stopped in just yesterday. Thank you for the complements and anyone is welcome to email me any questions you may have about photography, photoshop, or the photography services I offer. If I don’t know the answer to your question I know the people who do; you’ll get your answer.

    Thanks again and I look forward to selecting the winner for the giveaway. Party On everyone!

  20. Alex says:

    What beautiful photographs! Stopping by from UBP!!!

  21. Larry H says:

    Great Pics – love the Ice sickle photo (week 9 I think?).. anyway, enjoying UBP and am now following you on Twitter 🙂

  22. Jess says:

    I’ve enjoyed looking through your photos, Mark! The black and whites are extraordinary!

  23. kaylen says:

    I love the Club Serenity sign in the corner of this shot!

    Happy Blog Party!

  24. hi from the UBP! i love the pics and would love to win won. my email is ericka@alabastercow.com. nice to *meet* you!

  25. Mark Savage says:

    Hi Mark…Great job on the pics. You have a great eye and a great perspective in your shots. I am stopping by from the UBP2010. Have a great day!

    Mark Savage
    http://www.dadyoucandoit.blogspot.com

  26. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve been scanning through your blog for awhile this morning. Your photographs are amazing! They really speak to me—something very few photographs do because so many seem to be snapped simply to capture the moment. There’s so much more to a good photograph than a “moment.”

    I’m following now. I want to see your year of black and white.

  27. aDaddyBlog says:

    Hey Mark. Thanks for stopping by my “daddy blog”. I’m glad there are other guys out there blogging. Love your work, btw. I used to shoot a lot of B&W in Europe years ago. Mostly so I could save money and develop/print it easily myself… that and I loved the look you could achieve (e.g. via dodging, burning, etc). Nothing as nice as your work though. Have a great day!

Let me know what you think

