Photo Challenge: It’s in the Details

Today I’m starting a “new to me” feature, Photo Challenge! Yeah I know, “Not Original Mark” but I’m working on a better title, honest.

So here’s this challenge. There are a lot of big things in this world from buildings to Grand Canyons and there are tons of pictures of them in there whole. However things aren’t just made of one huge piece are they. More often than not it’s thousands of smaller pieces that make up the whole and they get overlooked.

How many of us look right down to the detail of that huge thing and find the complexity of the small things that make it up. This last Monday I drug my family to the National Air Force Museum in Dayton, Ohio and I found some of the most incredible planes but also the most interesting details. This usually ended up with a, “quit taking pictures Dad and let’s go!” from my son but I did get some great shots.

So that’s my challenge to you.

Compose three shots consisting of only the details of a larger whole. I would love to see what you came up with. So if you would like to, leave a comment on this post with a link to the photo’s and I’ll take a look at them. To start things off here’s some of the shots I got.

#1 Is the tail of the B-29 Superfortress “Bockscar”

AIr Force museum 099

#2 Is the under wing squadron insignia of a trainer aircraft.

AIr Force museum 085

#3 Footsteps made by a child in the new cement walkway. These steps are going to be around a while for the concrete was recently done and there are no signs of fixing this.

AIr Force museum 211

Happy shooting everyone.I can’t wait to see what you do.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

Let me know what you think

