Make the shot better Mark

Today, my wife challenged me to a contest. She had noticed an interesting light pattern given off from a candle she was burning and she wanted to know who can make a better shot. So loving a challenge, I accepted. Here’s the thing, I need your help.

Please let us know which you think is the better shot.  Leave a comment below saying which you like most.

021 copy

First up is my wife’s shot. She was focused on getting the light rings around the candle that looked like neon lights. Feeling that having a white background would show the lighting better she shot it on a countertop.

020

Now it’s my turn. My focus was the play of light on the wood texture and how it fades of in the background with only the red ring showing. Also the lower perspective and shallow depth of field give a mood to the picture.

So what do you think of the contenders, please let us know.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

Let me know what you think

