I Just Had to See Myself

My picture

I’ve wanted to update my profile picture for a while now but didn’t know what I wanted to do. Then today I just started playing with my lights and equipment. This shot was done with a single strobe flagged to block the light from spilling into the background and a white bounce disk to fill a little of the shadow side of my face.

With the f/stop set at f/32, ISO 100 and a shutter speed of 1/200th second I was able to black out the background light from the window and only use the strobe to light my face. Also since I was doing this all by myself, I needed to hold the reflector with my right hand and best guess where to stand. A few trial shots and then I got it right.

I think it turned out nicely. What do you think? Maybe a second slave flash set on a low setting for a rim light or shadow fill? Comments would be appreciated.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

Let me know what you think

