Plants, Tress, and Flowers! Oh My!

Throughout the year I seem to have this problem, I havn’t found a plant I didn’t like. Going through my shots as I have been doing for the past week, I have come across a lot of botanical pictures. Yes, yes it’s a cop out and jeez find something more to photograph but honestly, is it so bad? In my mind, no not really.

Okay look, if it’s a straight on shot, “oooo… a daisy in bright harsh noon daylight” then yeah puke city. But let’s put the same flower in better lighting and have an interesting composition, then it’s like a portrait. Let’s take this as an example; looking up from the ground into the canopy of a tree what kind of graphic art can you achieve? All those branches intertwined and doing whatever they want, it’s like a maze.

Now that fall is upon us (or spring for those in the southern hemisphere) natures colors are exploding everywhere. I challenge you to go out and shoot twenty pictures of our botanical friends. Use all your care just as you would for setting up a shot for portrait and see what kind of work you can produce. The world awaits my friend.

Nature shooters unite! Be proud of the plant images you make and display them. Composed correctly and even the over shot subject can be interesting.

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

2 Responses to Plants, Tress, and Flowers! Oh My!

  1. Very wonderful photos, compliments Orofiorentino from Italy

  2. Mark Birks says:

    Thank-you and thanks for following.

Let me know what you think

