Morning Patterns

Last night was a rough night for me. My body decided that 4:30 a.m. was a perfectly reasonable time to get up and that I should do so right then and there. So instead of just being bored and lying there, I got up and was bored looking at youtube for a couple of hours.

Well I decided this was a bad idea to be doing, rotting my brain and all, so I went back up to bed to try to get more sleep. The problem with this is that my bed temperature was now the room temperature (68 degrees Fahrenheit) and not conducive for sleep. So once again after lying there not sleeping and having cold feet I got up, again. Only this time my wife had already gotten up and the light was better in the room (we’re around 7:30 a.m. at this point); Of course I’m going to get my camera.

I setup the tripod and camera to take a true to the light (as opposed to the camera’s preferred correct exposure calculations) photo and took a shot of the wildly messy unmade bed. Then I took it into post production and converted it into black and white. That’s when I noticed the cool pattern the folds and lines were making in the comforter.

So I cropped it to the pattern and here’s the result.

002

About Mark Birks
Professional photographer specializing in fine art photography and portraiture.

Let me know what you think

